Hockey Wilderness

Article: The Minnesota Wild Must Forge A New Identity

Verified Member

Someone send this article to BG and Hynes! I would add that the early "rugged" Wild teams played that way naturally and as they leaned into that identity they became more of a goon squad and forgot about being skilled. Having said that I think BG is looking for players that play bigger than they are so I'm guessing this article will age very well. 

• Like 3

I like this article, mainly because it articulates what I've been saying for a few years now. The Wild are in transition. The identity that Brackett has drafted for is a great skating, puck moving team not necessarily concerned about size. 

In case this has escaped Shooter, that will mean that the identity of the team will change, has to change. Will the fanbase like the change? 

Skill is coming, and lots of skill. To me, I'd love to see a team that is able to roster 3 scoring lines and 1 shutdown line. I'd love to have a team that has plenty of skill and can tie up larger teams in knots with their edges. But, I'd want that team to not lose the hardworking attitude we've always had and to have an ability to have heavy shifts when needed. Instead of a team identity, I'd be looking more at a line identity. 

Now, with the defense it is obvious. Strong skaters, puck movers, but not too small. Brackett likes to top out at about 6'2" and always looks for skating first. He didn't draft Spurgeons, but some of these guys are a little on the undersized category. 

I'd like a defense that can quickly gain transition, move the puck up the ice and fire bombs from the point with an ability to join the rush. Yes, 3 sets of very good all round pairs. Yet, I still want them to be able to throw the big hit when needed.