Jump to content
Hockey Wilderness
  • Hockey Wilderness Awards


    With the end of the NHL regular season comes the debate surrounding who should win the NHL's storied awards. Does the Norris automatically go to Lidstrom? Does a young buck step in and take the torch? Who isĀ  the league's best goaltender? Are they really the best, or is it the system they play in? What decides who is the best? Wins? Save %?

    Does the Hart trophy go to best player in the league, or does it go to the player who is the most important to their team? Does the Masterson trophy have to go to the comeback player, or can it go to someone who meets the description of the award? Does the Masterson trophy actually matter?

    So many questions, very few with a right or wrong answer. NHL awards, from what I can tell, spark a debate not seen in other sports. NBA players have full out campaigns to win the MVP award. In baseball, the winner if often criticized rather than celebrated. The NFL, well, in the NFL the awards are about as important as the Pro Bowl. No one really cares much.

    With that, I present to you Hockey Wilderness' picks for each of the NHL awards, and for the Wild team specific awards. We will also present who will actually win it, despite the fact that we may not agree with that selection.

    Make the jump.

    NHL AWARDS (with official award description):

    Buddha: Ilya Bryzgalov

    Who Actually Wins: Alexander Ovechkin

    Chosen by: NHL GMs

    Nathan: Ryan Miller

    Chosen by: PHWA

    Buddha: Duncan Keith

    Chosen by: PHWA

    Nathan: Tyler Myers

    Who actually wins: Tyler Myers

    Chosen by: PHWA

    Nathan: Andrew Brunette

    Buddha: Andrew Brunette

    Chosen by: PHWA

    Buddha: (barf) Alex Burrows

    Who actually wins: Pavel Datsyuk

    Selected by: NHL Broadcasters' Association

    Nathan: Dave Tippett

    Buddha: Dave Tippett

    Who actually wins: Dave Tippett

    Chosen by: PHWA

    Buddha: Greg Zanon

    Who actually wins: No idea. No one really cares, I don't think.

    Chosen by: NHLPA members (the players)

    Nathan: Ilya Bryzgalov

    Who actually wins: Alex Ovechkin


    Nathan: Mikko Koivu



    Nathan: Greg Zanon


    Lady Byng:

    Nathan: Andrew Brunette


    Nathan: Mikko Koivu

    Buddha: Mikko Koivu

    Jack Adams:

    Nathan: Todd Richards

    Buddha: Mike Ramsey



    Nathan: Mikko Koivu

    Buddha: Mikko Koivu

    Other people's selections:


    SBN Blog Writers

    Do you agree? Disagree? Who would you pick?


    Think you could write a story like this? Hockey Wilderness wants you to develop your voice, find an audience, and we'll pay you to do it. Just fill out this form.

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Join the conversation

    You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...